Resolutions . . .

I haven’t written anything here in months  –  call it the doldrums, a dried-up muse, writer’s block,  reaching the knot at the end of my rope (and trying to untie it) –  but whatever you call it, it is in direct violation of my New Year’s resolution, which is rather vague right now, but involves me getting my head out of the sand, or my arse . . . whichever comes first!  Truth be told, I think I have been doing some wallowing while loosening the grip on my basket – definitely lots of napping, and growing – my waistline that is.

My resolution is still fleshing itself out (along with my waistline), but at the very least I have resolved to keep writing because  I am happier when I write, or so I’ve been told.  I hope to be thinner while writing as well, but baby steps for now.

What about the dried-up muse you say? Screw her – I have decided to do it the 12-steppers’ way and  “Fake it ’til I make it!”

Besides, I love the idea of turning over a new leaf, fresh beginnings, redemption – maybe I can ride that excitement right into a new, more engaged me! I have my doubts about my enthusiasm, my stamina to resolve much of anything, but I did get excited earlier today over an infomercial about E-Z Hangers (my closet is another resolution and could stand as a metaphor for my disorganized mind!) so there is hope! Also, the Rascal Flatts “Life is a Highway” song has been stuck in my head for days – another sign?

So, in the spirit of a new decade, I am rebelling against my inner demons!

But, enthusiasm aside, I can’t think of a damned thing to write about, so I shall bore you with one resolution in the making, which is to quit avoiding my books. You see, when I am a cheerier me I read like crazy – a total book whore – strong term, maybe, but I will and normally do, read anything and usually more than one book at a time. Why, books are lined up on my nightstand like Johns outside a cathouse.  Books collect around me like lint on black pants – not only are they are piled alongside my bed, they’re stacked on the floor, the dresser, the passenger seat of my car – and right now they are all collecting dust.

So far,  I am only four days into the New Decade and I have just finished  “The Master Butcher’s Singing Club” by Louise Erdrich and loved it.  In a nutshell, it’s about a singing German soldier who marries his war buddy’s widow, moves to the badlands and opens a butcher shop.  Lots of great characters, war, passion, love, vaudeville, war, murder, mystery, war and singing. I surprised myself choosing this since I had vowed not to read anything moving for a while – I read “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy over the summer and wanted to put my head in the oven.  A post-apocalyptic tale of a guy and his young son trying to survive while pushing a shopping cart of rags and canned peaches to the coast – dark, bleak, brutal and you will stay up all night reading it, but it may take you weeks to recuperate from it.  It’s now a movie starring Viggo Mortensen – I would almost go and see it, just for Viggo.

Now I am reading “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian,” by Sherman Alexie – I am halfway through and it is a hoot. I am a firm believer in reading humor between any terribly moving novels, especially war novels. I should have tried a little David Sedaris after I read “The Road.”  “When You Are Engulfed in Flames” would really have helped get the images of ravaging cannibals in an ashen and hopeless landscape out of my head, title to the contrary.  In his latest book, Sedaris writes of his family, living abroad and of his efforts to quit smoking – his books never disappoint me and always leave me laughing out loud.

What’s next for the nightstand?  “The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane” by Katherine Howe. It’s about a college student who unravels a mystery involving early American life and witch trials.

And, my most recent discovery was a recommendation from author Sherman Alexie’s website, “Going Bovine,” by Libba Bray.  It’s actually considered teen fiction (but I am very immature) and it’s about a high school kid who has mad cow disease and an hallucinatory adventure.  Sound like fun . . .you should see the trailer on the Amazon.com website – check it out:

  http://www.amazon.com/Going-Bovine-Libba-Bray/dp/0385733976/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262639822&sr=8-1

Hey, after only a few hundred words I am actually feeling better – go figure! And I hardly ever take my own advice. 

Stay tuned for the further unraveling of my mind – If life is a highway, I’m going to pull over and write about – hopefully all year long . . .

 

Leave a comment